Putting people at the heart of the SDG2000 benchmarks

Last week, WBA launched the [LINK 0] : social transformation scoping report. The report sets out our thinking and proposed approach to ensuring appropriate social criteria are included in every WBA benchmark – across systems and industries – and is now open for consultation until September.

On Wednesday 12 May we will hold two webinars at 11:00 and 17:00 CET to provide an overview of the proposed approach and kick off our consultations.

Objective and agenda of the webinars

The aim of the webinars is to explore the social transformation within WBA’s broader model of systems transformation. The session will be run by Dan Neale, Social Transformation Lead, and Shamistha Selvaratnam, Research Analyst. The following points will be covered during the session:

  • What is the social transformation?
  • The proposed model for assessing the 2,000 most influential companies globally on a social component
  • The 15 core social topics against which all companies will be assessed
  • Next steps for the development of the social transformation and how you can be involved

Register here for the 12 May 11:00 CET webinar

10:00 UK l 12:00 Kenya l 14:30 India l 17:00 China l 18:00 Japan

Register here for the 12 May 17:00 CET webinar

16:00 UK l 18:00 Kenya l 12:00 Brazil l 11:00 USA East l 10:00 Colombia l 08:00 USA West

Now more than ever

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) place people first. At their core, the SDGs promote a people-centred agenda that envisions a world where all life can thrive by seeking to realize the human rights of all and to achieve gender equality and the empowerment of all women and girls. As such, WBA will assess all of the 2,000 keystone companies on a social component.

The coronavirus pandemic reinforces the importance of responsible business conduct, including topics such as labour protections, managing impacts on workers in the supply chain and paying fair taxes to ensure governments have sufficient revenue to protect and develop their people. The context makes the development of the social indicators more relevant than ever.

Newsletter signup